It hardly seems like any time since all of this was just an idea – a plane ticket and some lines on a map. It’s all very real now though. Oh, and I don’t have a plane ticket any more.

Just as I arrived in the part of caracas where i am staying there erupted the most incredible noise – this (I’m told) being the ‘cacerolazo’ – people banging their pots and pans as a form of protest. There were fireworks as well, though I suspect those were mostly expressing a different sentiment about the election. The effect was certainly impressive.

Tomorrow I’ll put my bike together, and see about a plan for getting out of this town if nothing is too bent. The leaked soap and sugar in one of my panniers has made friends with the glitter; it’s pretty fabulous – but if that’s the worst of it, I should be able to hit the road properly on wednesday.

